I took a deep breath as I walked back in the door. I just returned from the Post Office.I have a PO Box there that I have had for about 8 years for business correspondence for my web development and consulting company. I’m living (temporarily) in an apartment these last 6 months and do not have the majority of my mail routed through the mail box that comes with the apartment. I don’t really want junk mail going to the apartment in perpetuity after I move.


My PO Box was empty. It has been a trying month. Larger payments have not been forthcoming.Work has been plentiful. Still its not easy to keep oneself motivated with a rapidly depleting bank account.

I’ve got lots of work to do this afternoon and this evening. 

I am grateful for that. I need the work.

All the way back, its about a quarter mile walk there and another quarter mile back, I was working through feeling the thought that I needed to let go of the things I cannot control.

I can’t control speeding along a check to be cut, nor delivered. Today, was probably the last day, I could hope to get it turned around and deposited in time to pay my rent on time.

So now I have a new challenge to deal with. My receivables are large enough to pay my outstanding bills, some of which are past due. But I can’t write checks on receivables.

As I worked to ‘feel’ the need to let go, I kept feeling the guilt that comes with the sense of ‘giving up’. This is an irrational feeling. I am not giving up. Letting go and giving up are two different things.

I’ve been working through a number of things to fix and improve things. They have not proved to be enough to head off my current challenges, but they will make life better in the future.

I’m going to have to find a way to let go of the current situation that I cannot control any longer. I’m doing that without the guilt of feelings about giving up.

That guilt will not help me get things done. It will not help me stay positive and do positive things for myself, my family and my clients. I write this to help close the deal on this mental cleanse. I need to put voice to this feeling and lock it up so that I can take these temporary but recurring feelings and dump the negatives and lock the positive ones into my future.


I took a quick break to write this up while sitting on my porch enjoying the breeze and the warm, but not yet hot sun and the blooming Hibiscus that I picked up for $9 a few days ago. Keeping it real, I have $110 in my bank account. 


I am not a fake it until you make it person. That balance is going to be significantly larger soon, but at the moment it is not. Its just money and I know how to make more of it.

So its time to do some of that, and get some things moving. Break is over, business partners are pinging me with deliverables that I have been awaiting since last evening. 

 Time to make some donuts and make a great day!

I hope you are able to get past your own challenges and let go of the things you cannot control, not just let go, but do so without guilt and stress and know that you can make improvements in your present and your future. The anxiety stemming from things that we cannot control adds no value.

I’m with you in spirit. Let’s go make some great things happen. Let go and live. Let go and make good things happen. Let’s go finish an amazing day. Let go and enjoy an even better weekend. 

Now!

Leave a Reply

